Poetry Friday: “Making Peace”

“Making Peace”
by Denise Levertov

A voice from the dark called out,
             ‘The poets must give us
imagination of peace, to oust the intense, familiar
imagination of disaster. Peace, not only
the absence of war.’
                                   But peace, like a poem,
is not there ahead of itself,
can’t be imagined before it is made,
can’t be known except
in the words of its making,
grammar of justice,
syntax of mutual aid.
Read the rest of the poem here.
Please be sure to visit Sally Murphy at her blog for the Poetry Friday Roundup.

17 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: “Making Peace”

  1. I love that phrase, “the grammar of justice…” Something about that just feels right. Grammar is orderly and helps us make sense of words and requires following some rules–but also making exceptions. Just like justice. Thanks for sharing, Catherine!

    Like

  2. Catherine, this poem…I’m copying this one in my notebook. How beautiful…so many lines are like those flower stems that hippies used to put into the gun barrels of soldiers. I needed this poem today. Thank you….this is my first flower stem I’m carrying with me into today:
    But peace, like a poem,
    is not there ahead of itself,

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment