Slice of Life 19: Making a Poem Out of Legos

Another March is coming to a close. After five years of successfully blogging every day, this is the second year that I haven’t been able to keep up with the pace of slicing. As my friend Heidi so wisely stated: “It might be okay to miss a day, because, you know, LIFE.”

And meetings. Have there always been so many meetings? It seems like they’ve multiplied exponentially lately. At a recent meeting in our Library/Media Center, I happened to be sitting at the end of the row, near a table where a bin of Legos awaited the next day’s students. They intrigued me because they were many more colors than I remember from my children’s Legos. There were brown bricks, orange bricks, gray bricks! I confess, my mind started to wander. The next thing I knew, this draft of a poem was in my notebook.

Brown earth thaws, softens
Green shoots peek out of the soil
Gray clouds skitter across the sky, unveiling an
Orange sunset blanketing the sky, cradling a
Yellow crescent moon.

© Catherine Flynn, 2019

Naomi Shihab Nye is absolutely correct: “Poems hide…What we have to do is live in a way that lets us find them.”

What I didn’t know as I jotted down my ideas was that I was inadvertently warming up for Mary Lee Hahn‘s National Poetry Month project, “Playing With Poetry!” And though I doubt I’ll get a poem up every day, I’m looking forward to joining in the fun!

Thank you to StaceyBetsyBethKathleenDebKelseyMelanie, and Lanny for creating this community and providing this space for teachers and others to share their stories every day in March and each Tuesday throughout the year. Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers to read more Slice of Life posts.

8 thoughts on “Slice of Life 19: Making a Poem Out of Legos

  1. What a fun surprise to find a poem (during a meeting) in the Legos!! Love the way you combined the indoor toys with outdoor experiences. I have to remember to “play with poetry” with my students during our poetry unit.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There is so much I love about this post:Your mind wandering during the meeting, your fabulous poem and the Naomi Shihab Nye quote! Wow! Now I think we should have a challenge to create poems during staff meetings and see what we come up with. I’m totally going to keep this in mind at my extended staff meeting on Wed. 1 1/2 hours. sigh…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment