Slice of Life 19: The Cult of the Cooking Channel

This poem, which is partially true, evolved from a story idea I found in my journal. This cheesecake is delicious and has become a holiday tradition in my family. You can find the recipe here.

The Cult of the Cooking Channel

She “got” cooking like
some people “get” religion.
The lure of pristine,
well-stocked kitchens was
impossible to resist.

Her favorite high priestess extolled
the virtues of butter,
so tubs of margarine
were tossed in favor
of sticks of unsalted butter.
Garlic was now purchased in bulbs,
not bottles.

She found herself at the mall,
clutching a recipe for cheesecake
searching for the kitchen supply store.
The saleswoman showed her how
to use a springform pan,
Located the “perfect microplane”
For zesting lemons.

At her next stop, she found
red currant jelly, something
she’d never heard of,
tucked away on the top shelf,
filled her cart with cream cheese,
sour cream, and eggs.

Assembling the batter was
surprisingly easy; she just
followed the recipe,
step by careful step.

After the pan was filled
and safely in the oven,
she ran her finger along
the rim of the bowl and licked.
She’d never tasted anything
so delicious.

Baking this luscious concoction
was tedious, but she never
deviated from her mentor’s
instructions.

When her creation was cool
and topped with raspberries tossed
in the warm melted jelly,
she offered it to her family.

Their mouths dropped open.
They regarded her with new eyes.
Who was this woman who had such
hidden talents?

An acolyte of the cooking channel,
eager to discover new recipes,
new truths about herself.

© Catherine Flynn, 2019

Thank you to StaceyBetsyBethKathleenDebKelseyMelanie, and Lanny for creating this community and providing this space for teachers and others to share their stories every day in March and each Tuesday throughout the year. Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers to read more Slice of Life posts.

9 thoughts on “Slice of Life 19: The Cult of the Cooking Channel

  1. It looks and sounds delicious. Many would shy away from learning to use a spring pan and undertaking a cheesecake. Hooray for new challenges!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have never made a cheesecake. I do own a springform pan. I love the Barefoot Contessa – I just might have to take this on. I loved the poem – it grabbed me and left me waiting for each next line. These last lines: eager to discover new recipes,
    new truths about herself – really speak to me. Taking the time to cook does help you discover new truths … so glad I stopped by today!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That looks amazingly delicious. I have to admit, the Great British Bake Off has me sucked in. There’s just something so calming about watching people bake!!

    Like

  4. I have never been much of a cook, but I know that look. I love the first stanza where she gets cooking like religion. And the search for the right pan. The poem tells a story that leads us along.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment