Slice of Life: 2019 Reading Goals

Resolutions really aren’t my thing. I’m much better at setting goals and working toward them. That way, I’m always making progress.

At school, we always challenge our students to, in the words of Lucy Calkins, “outgrow themselves as readers.” January is the perfect time to check our progress and set new goals. Knowing that many of our students need help choosing titles, we’ve adapted The Strand Book Store’s “Reads-olutions” (I know; I said I don’t like resolutions, but this is too catchy to pass up.) to guide them.

I always tell kids that these categories are only suggestions, and really, as long as they keep reading, they’re achieving their goal. I do share with them my reads-olutions (aka goals), and tell them that I almost never read every book I plan to, but always read many more that I didn’t know about when I made my list.

With that in mind, here are several titles I hope to read in 2019:

  • Book by a debut author (also covering Book with a one word title):
    Speechless by Adam P. Schmitt

  • A Newbery Award winner:
    Although I haven’t read every Newbery winner, I’ve read many of them. Kira-Kira, by Cynthia Kadohata is the most recent winner I haven’t read. Of course, if I haven’t read this year’s winner, I’ll add that to my list.

As always, I’ll continue to chip away at the mountains of books already scattered around my house, waiting to be read! Thanks to Betsy Bird for her fabulous blog, A Fuse 8 Production, and her incredible series, 31 Days/31 Lists. Many of these titles came from these posts. The Nerdy Book Club also has wonderful year-end lists if you need more suggestions.

What books are you looking forward to reading in 2019?

Thank you to StaceyBetsyBethKathleenDebKelseyMelanie, and Lanny for creating this community and providing this space for teachers and others to share their stories every Tuesday. Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers to read more Slice of Life posts.

6 thoughts on “Slice of Life: 2019 Reading Goals

  1. Catherine,
    Thanks for sharing your reading goals! Having some kind of list or goal does keep me reading! I happily made it a habit to post what I finish reading to Goodreads and now have a long list that I can show to others, especially students. I currently discovered author Steve Sheinkin and am discovering that I do like reading non-fiction! I currently checked out LOTS of books people expect to win a Sibert Award, a Newbery and a Caldecott. I plan to have kids read and nominate their picks before the 1/28 announcement. So many ways to keep us being life-long readers!! Happy New Year!! PS: I just finished Half of What You Hear by Kristyn Kusek Lewis (mother of a past student), an adult novel and page-turner! It just came out yesterday!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Happy New Year, Sally! I like keeping track of books on Goodreads, too. We’ve never done a mock Caldecott or Newbery. There are so many worthy contenders this year! I’ll be curious to find out what your students choose and which book actually wins. Thanks for the recommendation of What You Hear. My niece gave me Once Upon a River by Diane Setterfield for Christmas, which drew me in immediately. If you like historical fiction with a dash of mystery and romance, you’ll love this book!

      Like

  2. Hi Catherine. I am a friend of Sally’s and I really hope to meet you someday. I follow your Poetry Friday posts and so admire the work you do as a poet. Thank you for this inspiring post for readers! I am reading A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles. It is beautifully written. Lots of character development and philosophy. Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your kind words. My son lives in Aldie, so maybe one day when I’m visiting him, you, Sally, and I could plan a visit. A Gentleman in Moscow is on my shelf, waiting patiently. Maybe I’ll have to read it next! Happy New Year to you!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the reads-olutions idea. I’m reading “The Female Persuasion” as my first book this year. I should finish it Wednesday. I have tons of books on my TBR. I don’t read as much YA as I should, but I am also planning to read “Dry.”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I adore the idea of having Reads-olutions! I’ve been trying to turn off MSNBC at night in favor of a book. I’m always happier when I do!

    BTW: I read and ADORED Kira-Kira. Kadohata came and spoke with my fifth grade students about her book. She was as incredible and lovely as her writing is.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment