Poetry Friday: The Wondrous Wonderpus

Without intending to, I ended up taking a hiatus from blogging during October. I have missed all my poetry pals, though, so I’m determined to at least get pack to posting on Fridays.

In September, the lovely and generous Irene Latham invited her readers and friends to share “some octopus poems and art” to be featured on her blog during October, otherwise known as #NationalOctopusMonth. I’ve never been a huge fan of octopuses, but I am a HUGE fan of Irene and all her writing, so I dove into learning more about the fascinating creatures.

I soon discovered the wonderpus octopus (Wunderpus photogenicus)who lives in the coastal waters near Indonesia and Malaysia. This beautiful little octopus inspired this poem, “The Wondrous Wonderpus.”

 

 

By Jenny (JennyHuang) from Taipei (Flickr) [CC BY 2.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons
Thank you again to Irene, for always being such an inspiration. Please be sure to visit Jama at Jama’s Alphabet Soup for the Poetry Friday Roundup!

6 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: The Wondrous Wonderpus

  1. This is a wonderfully clever way to arrange the words that tell of your “Wonderpus”, Catherine. They do move in those zig-zag ways, and like Jama, ‘fluttering like ribbons’. Glad to see you back again. It is a busy and challenging time this year.

    Like

  2. Wonderpus! The name by itself incites the imagination. I love the structure of your poem, Catherine, and your careful choice of words to describe this beautiful creature—a ripple of color, tentacles fluttering like ribbons. So evocative!

    Like

  3. Catherine, the swaying movement of the secretive wonderpus, elusive and shy, makes me think that this poem would be a great pairing with Wonderolopolis’ Wonder of the Day #1404, How Do You Hide an Octopus? You did a fine job with this.

    Like

Leave a comment