SOL 18: Another Slice of Poetry

                                   

I spent much of the evening working on a writing project that I hope to tell you about one day. After playing with one four-line stanza for the better part of an hour, it was time to step away. My brain was too muddled to make any more progress on this day. Then I realized I hadn’t written anything for Poetry Friday! I searched my recent jottings and found the bare bones of this poem hiding in my notebook. Since this is what I’d been doing all evening, it seemed appropriate to polish it up a bit and share it today.

Find a word
      write it down
play with its meaning
      listen to its sound.

Pick another
        do the same
string them together
         make it a game.

Soon you will have
         a new work of art
a story or poem
         straight from your heart.

© Catherine Flynn, 2018

Photo by Jon Tyson via Unsplash

Please be sure to visit Michelle Heidenrich Barnes at Today’s Little Ditty for the Poetry Friday Roundup. Also, a big thank you to StaceyBetsyBeth, KathleenDeb, Melanie, and Lanny for creating this community and providing this space for teachers and others to share their stories every day in March and each Tuesday throughout the year. Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers to read more Slice of Life posts.

20 thoughts on “SOL 18: Another Slice of Poetry

  1. :”Found the bare bones of this poem hiding in my notebook” — great lesson for student writers, using our notebooks to find kernels to develop. Love the poem1 Thanks for sharing this idea with us.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Playing with words is a great way to spend a day, even when you are fiddling and fiddling with them and cannot get them to come out quite right. I enjoyed the way you wrote a poem about writing a poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. love your poem. sometimes writing is more manageable for me when I just think of it as a game of stringing words together instead of the daunting project! Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment