Slice of Life: Poem for a Fairy Wren

Whew. I don’t know about you, but I needed a few days off after a marathon month of blogging. I’ve been writing every day, but am very relieved that the pressure of posting daily is over. But, because it’s National Poetry Month, I can’t rest for too long! There are so many exciting poetry projects going on around the Kidlitosphere, it might take me all month to read them all. (Visit the the lovely and gracious Jama Rattigan at Jama’s Alphabet Soup for links to all the festivities.)

In the meantime, I have a poem inspired Amy Ludwig Vanderwater’s “Writing the Rainbow” project. Sunday’s color of the day was lavender. Scrolling through Facebook that day, I found this photo:

via INature’s Facebook page (If you are the photographer, or know who is, please let me know so I can give proper credit.)

A friend assures me those feathers are blue, but I’m claiming poetic license and declaring them lavender. I’ve never seen such a sweet little bird, so I did some research to try and find out what species this is. In my searching, I found a purple-crowned fairy-wren, which is native to Australia. This bird doesn’t really fit a fairy-wren’s description, but when I read that name, I didn’t care. Poetic license strikes again. The details in the poem about the birds song, habitat, and diet are accurate for the purple-crowned fairy-wren. Thank you, Amy, for the inspiration!

The fairy wren
wears a purple crown
that complements
her lavender gown.

Her tail feathers
form a velvety train
that won’t be ruined
by wind or rain.

Flitting about creek-side
cane grass and shrubs
she feasts upon beetles,
spiders, and grubs.

Later, she and her love
will sing a duet,
a chick-chicka tune:
serenade for sunset.

© Catherine Flynn, 2017

Thank you, Laura, for once again being so generous with your time and talents.  Thank you also to StaceyBetsyBeth, KathleenDeb, MelanieLisa and Lanny for creating this community and providing this space for teachers and others to share their stories each Tuesday. Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers to read more Slice of Life posts.

12 thoughts on “Slice of Life: Poem for a Fairy Wren

  1. Hurray for poetic license. Especially in your hands. This bird is a beauty are your words. I’m betting the Amy’s crayons will inspire another lovely bird poem or two…

    Like

  2. “Her tail feathers form
    a velvety train”

    I love this! What a beautiful bird that inspired beautiful words. Did you think that Crayola’s LAVENDER looks a wee bit like pink? I think it does. I think that their WISTERIA looks a bit more lavender-y. Happy continued Poetry Month, such a month of gifts. xx

    Like

  3. I love this and will save it to share with students from your blog page! Beautiful language and imagery! You should do a whole book on exotic birds! Lyrical!

    Like

  4. I know what fun it is to follow a trail of research to create a poem, and I know how hard it is to get the right rhythm and rhyme. Beautifully crafted, my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wonderful to read and imagine, Catherine. It would be grand to have a fairy wren flying around my garden. Love “a chick-chicka tune:”

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lovely, just plain lovely in every way, Catherine! Now, you need to write some expository text to pair with this because I want to know more about fairy wren. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. There’s so much personality in this photo, and you capture that in your poem too. This little wren in her purple/lavender does look like a fairy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment