SOL 17: A Pi(e) Poem

Outside my window, a blizzard is howling. What better way to spend a snowy Pi day than thinking of warm, luscious pies? Baking apple pies with my grandmother is one of my favorite memories. So here is a Pi poem (literally; the number of words in each line correspond to the digits in Pi; read more about the form here). I didn’t follow the rules exactly, but every poet and pie maker knows that it’s okay to be flexible about some ingredients.

Juicy, red apples
peeled,
coated with sugar, cinnamon,
nutmeg.
Topped with dollops of butter
and a dash of salt; layered and sealed into
your favorite
pie plate, blue with fluted edges.
Ready to bake, magically transform
into sweet memories.

© Catherine Flynn, 2017

You can read last year’s Pi poem here.

 Thank you to StaceyBetsyBeth, KathleenDeb, MelanieLisa and Lanny for creating this community and providing this space for teachers and others to share their stories every day in March and on Tuesdays throughout the year. Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers to read more Slice of Life posts.

16 thoughts on “SOL 17: A Pi(e) Poem

  1. A perfect slice of life and pie for Pi day. It’s my daughter’s birthday so I’ve always been partial to today–and she’s even a math minor 🙂 Enjoy your snow day–we’ve got one up here as well!

    Like

  2. That’s a yummy pie poem for such a cold day. I talked about pi-ku with my kids, so we wrote poems with the 3, 1, 4 syllable pattern. I think I read about it at Kathleen Sokolowski’s blog. One thing I know for sure is the best poems are the ones that break (or bend) the rules.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment