SOL 17 & Poetry Friday: “Ode to a Blanket”

                          

Each month I look forward to Michelle Heidenrich Barnes’s Ditty Challenge. This month, Helen Frost challenged Michelle’s readers to “choose and object…[then] write five lines about the object, using a different sense in each line.”

Choose an object? That narrows it right down, doesn’t it? I decided not to obsess about this. I just went through my days with this challenge in the back of my mind. Sure enough, the word “blanket” came up as I was preparing a lesson yesterday. I instantly saw the possibilities with this word. Here is my Ode to a Blanket:

Clutching your satin edge, soft as a dog’s ear,
I wrap your sunny yellow self around me.
Cocooned inside, I breathe in the air of summer.
Night whispers are muffled as I snuggle deeper,
take the first sip of a dream.
Do you sleep with me? Or are you always
on guard, steadfast and loyal through the night?

© Catherine Flynn, 2017

Please be sure to visit Michelle at Today’s Little Ditty for the Poetry Friday Roundup. (Not sure what Poetry Friday is? Find out more from Renée LaTulippe here.)

And thank you to StaceyBetsyBeth, KathleenDeb, MelanieLisa and Lanny for creating this community and providing this space for teachers and others to share their stories every day in March and on Tuesdays throughout the year. Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers to read more Slice of Life posts.

14 thoughts on “SOL 17 & Poetry Friday: “Ode to a Blanket”

  1. Oh, Catherine, this is lovely. I’ll have to take a look at the challenge. “First sip of a dream” is a luscious phrase. And I like thinking that our blankets stand guard, steadfast and loyal.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Once again, Catherine, your poetry wows me. As Ramona said, this is simply lovely. I’m entranced with the idea of a “first sip of a dream” and all the wonderful images you crafted. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is wonderful, Catherine! In my head I was composing a comment just like Ramona’s, but now that I see those words have already been expressed, perhaps a “ditto” will suffice? Seriously though, I could wrap myself in your poem and sleep quite soundly, I’m sure. When you have a chance, would you add it to the padlet? Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Catherine, this is just perfect. I love “night whispers” and “sip of a dream” using whispers and sips as nouns. Great description.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh, it’s so nice to think about, Catherine. I do love my blanket! Love ” first sip of a dream”. That’s just what it seems like when drifting off.

    Like

  6. Catherine, this is a poem that I can sink right into and begin dreaming of summer. I love the words you used, soft as a dog’s ear, cocooned inside, snuggle deeper, first sip of a dream. Our blankets are the guardians of night. I drafted an ode that I will refine and send off to Michelle. Thanks for reminding me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment