Slice of Life: An Unobserved Slice

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Three hours are left before the last day of March, and I still don’t know what to write about today. Was there a slice hidden somewhere in my day? If there was, I didn’t notice it, maybe because I was preoccupied by something.

Was it that moment when a third grade student came up with the perfect metaphor for a poem she’s writing?

It could have been when a first grade student sat up a little straighter after figuring out a word he didn’t know.

Was it hiding in the emails I wrote?

Maybe it was when a kindergarten student hugged me in the hallway just because she felt like it.

Did I miss it while I was planning for tomorrow?

Or was it when I got home after a late meeting and my husband had dinner ready and waiting?

Whenever it happened, it went by unobserved. Some days are like this.

Thank you to StaceyTaraDanaBetsyAnnaBeth, Kathleen, and Deb for this space for teachers and others to share their stories each Tuesday throughout the year and every day during the month of March. Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers to read more Slice of Life posts.

3 thoughts on “Slice of Life: An Unobserved Slice

  1. What a beautiful post of possibility! I, too, had a day much like yours. A friend suggested a topic for me tonight. I am writer, mommy, partner, principal, life, weary. One. More. Day.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Writing every day helps us to take notice. To be more present in the every day ordinary things. Thanks for this peek into your day. Don’t you love those little ones who hug just because?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment