Slice of Life: Currently

11454297503_e27946e4ff_hCURRENTLY, I’m…

LISTENING to keyboard sonatas by Domenico Scarlatti, performed by Mikhail Pletnev. I can’t write or do school work while listening to music with lyrics because I’ll start singing along!

WONDERING if I have everything I need for a PD session with K-2 teachers this afternoon.

THINKING about a couple of ideas I have for poems.

FEELING relieved that my son Michael is getting settled in his new apartment.

TEXTING with my son Brian and his wife about their new puppy, Louie.

READING Silver People: Voices from the Panama Canal, by Margarita Engle. The Firefly Letters is the only book I’ve read by Engle. I think I’ll have to do something about that this year. What an amazing writer!

REFLECTING on how to best help two of our neediest students, both of whom are making very slow progress.

DRINKING a cup of tea, Bigelow Lemon Lift.

WATCHING nothing. We never turn the TV on in the morning.

WISHING I had gotten more housework done over the weekend. We’re having company this weekend, and I’m not sure how I’m going to get everything done before they arrive on Friday.

WORKING ON getting our taxes together.

KNITTING a hat for a baby shower I’m going to in a few weeks.

Louie is only 11 weeks old. Look at the size of those paws!
Louie is only 11 weeks old. Look at the size of those paws!

Thank you to Elisabeth Ellington of The Dirigible Plum for the “Currently” format of this slice, and thank you to StaceyTaraDanaBetsyAnnaBeth, Kathleen, and Deb for this space for teachers and others to share their stories each Tuesday throughout the year and every day during the month of March. Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers to read more Slice of Life posts.

13 thoughts on “Slice of Life: Currently

  1. What a good snapshot of what you’re doing RIGHT NOW. I’m listening to my good old dog lick her paws, typing this response, waiting for the clock to change to 6:00 when I have to make lunches and let my mom hat take over my writer hat. That puppy is cute, this slice was good! 🙂

    Like

  2. It was fun to get a peek at your morning and this was a great slice format. I’m going to tuck it away to use later this month. The puppy is adorable and I was glad to hear Michael was settling into his new apartment. Hope the rest of your day is filled with many more rich moments!

    Like

  3. This format really reveals a lot about you and who you are day to day. Always thinking about your students and your boys. That puppy is adorable.

    Like

  4. Love the use of verbs in this format – verbs are so important and many kids don’t think about word choice with verbs. It is amazing the snapshot this gives in so few words – I truly know how you are feeling, what you are doing, and thinking. Love it –and yes you will get it all done! We always do –don’t we?
    Clare

    Like

  5. I may have to try this, Catherine, loved hearing about “all” the parts of your life. I have a tax app’t today, will be glad it’s behind me. Best wishes for your PD this afternoon, and glad to see that puppy pic, very cute!

    Like

  6. Wow you get a lot done in the morning, Catherine! Is that your new puppy??? SO cute. Love how you listed taxes at the end… I have them breathing down my neck too.

    Like

  7. I think this is wonderful. I can totally relate to most of what you said…thinking about giving PD, ruminating about slowly progressing students, grateful children are doing well, etc.
    Thanks for posting this slice.

    Like

Leave a comment