SOLC 2014: Adventures in Knitting

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

On Sunday, I wrote about the importance of downtime and my day of reading. Unstructured time for play was also mentioned by Wendy Mogel as a way to nurture creativity. I don’t really remember the last time I played anything. I guess for adults our hobbies should be considered our time to play.

Knitting is one of my favorite hobbies. Unlike gardening, I can do it all year. It’s portable and quiet. Best of all, when a project is finished, I have a beautiful hat or scarf or sweater. Here’s a mini-photo essay of what I’ve been working on over the past few days.

Yarn choices for a gift for a friend's new baby.
Yarn choices for a gift for a friend’s new baby.
Baby blanket in progress.
Baby blanket in progress.
A birthday gift for a friend--scarf in progress.
This scarf in progress is for a friend’s birthday.

I’m off to knit!

Thank you, as always, to StaceyTaraDanaBetsyAnna, and Beth for hosting the Slice of Life Challenge. Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers to read more Slice of Life posts.

11 thoughts on “SOLC 2014: Adventures in Knitting

  1. This makes me miss my quilting days! I need to play more, work less! I guess writing and reading slices is my play time for right now! I hope you were able to make progress on your projects!

    Like

  2. I wish you lived down the street, Catherine so I could learn from you. These are awesome, especially love the look of the baby blanket. As for play, precisely why I started the weaving-time for the brain to do something else!

    Like

  3. Odd, I’m not much of a knitter (or a knitter at all, though I used to be) but today I was contemplating writing about knitting. Now that I’ve read your Slice, I think it must have been destiny. I might write about knitting. Or rather, knit materials.

    Like

Leave a comment