Slice of Life: A Confession

Image

This sign hangs above my kitchen door. And no, I did not tilt it for effect. The cobwebs are real, too. For 25 years, this sign has made me feel less guilty about not cleaning my house as often as I should.

But on Sunday, I reached a new low. I let a 10-month old baby crawl around on a rug that hadn’t been vacuumed in a month. I know; I’m a terrible person. To be fair, his mother didn’t tell me they were coming until about 15 minutes before they arrived. Still, I could have at least vacuumed the living room.

The frustration (and guilt) this incident caused me was forgotten as I played patty-cake with Max and my niece and I chatted about her new house. Also forgotten was the pile of work I brought home Friday afternoon and the plans for writing a blog post or two.

Maybe next weekend I’ll have more time to develop some ideas that have been percolating in my brain for the last week. For now, I’m going to go vacuum. Just in case.

sols_6

Thank you to Stacey at Two Writing Teachers for hosting Slice of Life Tuesdays!

8 thoughts on “Slice of Life: A Confession

  1. You need to (re) read some Patricia MacLachlan. She would applaud babies crawling around on the non-vacuumed floor, especially if you have some white haired dogs. Love your post, love your sign!

    Like

  2. I can relate. I started having a yoga class at my house once a week. Last night my husband found three bug bodies in the living room where we had had our class earlier. I think next week I’ll do a quick sweep of the room. Nobody said anything. I think we are all guilty of this.

    Like

Leave a comment