Poetry Friday: “The Peace of Wild Things”

poetry-friday-1-1

“The Peace of Wild Things”
by Wendell Berry

When despair for the world grows in me
and I wake in the night at the lease sound
in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be,
I go and lie down where the wood drake
rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds.
I come into the peace of wild things…

Read the rest of the poem here

By Dcordero7965 at English Wikipedia (Transferred from en.wikipedia to Commons.) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
By Dcordero7965 at English Wikipedia (Transferred from en.wikipedia to Commons.) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
Please be sure to visit Margaret Simon at Reflections on the Teche for the Poetry Friday Roundup.

16 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: “The Peace of Wild Things”

  1. It isn’t exactly a “wild place”, but when I’m outside in my own garden, I do feel this, Catherine. Wendell Berry wrote it right, didn’t he? “I come into the peace of wild things” Thanks, good to have a reminder of this poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Catherine, thank you for this lovely poem. It came at just the right time for me. I am waiting for the still water to surround me.
    I come into the peace of wild things
    who do not tax their lives with forethought
    of grief. I come into the presence of still water.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Excellent timing! I experienced some wild things this morning: a bird nesting on my flip flops in the car port, and a teeny tiny black racer (snake) in the driveway. I only shrieked a little. 🙂 But being around these wild things made me think how blessed we are to be alive amid such wonder.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ahh…thank you for this. It resonates the same notes as the article I posted on FB: “Remember that self-care is not apathy, and that sensory overload isn’t social justice.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

