Poetry Friday: National Geographic Book of Nature Poetry

poetry-friday-1-1

I treated myself to an early birthday present on Tuesday, and bought a copy of J. Patrick Lewis’s latest anthology, National Geographic Book of Nature Poetry. What a treasure! Like it’s companion volume, National Geographic Book of Animal Poetry, it is filled with stunning photographs and beautiful, evocative poetry. And it’s exciting to see the work of so many Poetry Friday regulars in this collection! Congratulations to Matt, Kelly, Charles, Mary Lee, Julie, B.J., Laura, Amy, April, and Janet! (So sorry if I missed anyone!) And what would a collection of nature poetry be without poems by Rebecca Kai Dotlich, Georgia Heard, Marilyn Singer, Naomi Shihab Nye, Jane Yolen, and more. I know I’ll be savoring this book for weeks to come.

51ResORj5rL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

Many classics are also included, and I was happy to see this old favorite:

“The Morns Are Meeker Than They Were”

The morns are meeker than they were,
The nuts are getting brown;
The berry’s cheek is plumper,
The rose is out of town.

The maple wears a gayer scarf;
The field a scarlet gown.
Lest I should be old-fashioned,
I’ll put a trinket on.

by Emily Dickinson

unnamed
One of our maple trees, wearing its “gayer scarf” in the morning sun.

If you haven’t gotten a copy of this gorgeous book yet, don’t delay! In the meantime, be sure to visit Amy Ludwig VanDerwater, whose wonderful poem “Petrified Forest” is included in the book, at The Poem Farm for the Poetry Friday Round Up.

12 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: National Geographic Book of Nature Poetry

  1. Such a perfect, perfect poem for today! The hill behind our house is full of colorful trinkets…and I just may wear my red corn necklace in celebration. Happy happy Poetry Friday! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My copy came this week, too. I considered writing about it, so it’s right here next to me. I love the synergy of Poetry Friday, so much rich talent here.

    Like

  3. I will have to read it! That’s a great poem by Emily Dickinson. This morning our maple tree had turkey baubles plumping up its limbs. I watched at least 10 flap and gobble to the ground, looking started and hungry when they hit the ground.

    Like

Leave a Reply

